Select consignments invited as Bonhams assembles an extraordinary list of motorcars for the January event

Following the recent news of impressive early consignments to the Bonhams 2014 Scottsdale Auction, Bonhams is very pleased to announce the consignment of the exceptional 1951 Ferrari 212 Export Touring Berlinetta chassis number 0088 E, better known as "The Tailor's Car."

This remarkable racing-bred V-12 Ferrari was delivered new to Italian tailor and racing driver Augusto Caraceni of the eponymous fashion house. Founded in 1913 by Domenico Caraceni, "The Father of Italian Tailoring", the House of Caraceni made bespoke suits for some of the best dressed and most recognizable men of the 20th century, including Enzo Ferrari, Gianni Agnelli (known for being a fashion icon as much as the director of FIAT), Gary Cooper, Aristotle Onassis, Prince Rainier of Monaco, and even Yves St. Laurent.

Domenico's son, Augusto Caraceni, steeped in the family business, knew good design when he saw it. So when a car was needed to compete in the 1951 Stella Alpina, it was this sports racing Ferrari clothed in the legendary Berlinetta body by famous Milanese coachbuilder Touring that was selected by one of the most renowned sartorial names in the world.

Just four of these even-numbered competition models were created in Berlinetta form, which was Touring's first closed racing model built for Ferrari. Using a shorter and more rigid chassis, they received a highly tuned version of Colombo's 212 engine featuring a triple carburetor setup, higher compression and dry sump lubrication. The lithe Touring Supperleggera Berlinetta bodies had racing features such as Plexiglas windows and quick-release fuel filler, and an interior stripped of most creature comforts. The result was a car nearly 200 kilograms (440 lbs.) lighter than the road version, and historically a very important part of Ferrari's early racing efforts on their road to domination.

In current ownership since 1969, this even-numbered, competition-built Berlinetta still retains its original Touring coachwork and matching-numbers engine and drivetrain, and has now been restored to the absolute highest and most correct standards. This exceptional Ferrari would be a welcomed entrant to the most discerning shows, like the Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance or the Cavallino Classic, or a perfect entry to the most exclusive rallies and racing events worldwide, such as the Mille Miglia.

Select consignments are now being sought to be sold alongside this spectacular car in Scottsdale and owners are encouraged to contact one of these Bonhams specialists today:
- Mark Osborne • 415-503-3353 • mark.osborne@bonhams.com
- Jakob Greisen • 415-503-3284 • jakob.greisen@bonhams.com
- Rupert Banner • 212-461-6515 • rupert.banner@bonhams.com
- Evan Ide • 917-340-4657 • evan.ide@bonhams.com
- David Swig • 415-503-3285 • david.swig@bonhams.com
- Eric Minoff • 917- 206-1630 • eric.minoff@bonhams.com
- Nick Smith • 323-436-5470 • nick.smith@bonhams.com
- Kurt Forry - Automobilia • 415-503-3248 • kurt.forry@bonhams.com

The 2014 Bonhams Scottsdale Auction will take place Thursday, January 16th at the AAA Four Diamond-rated Westin Kierland Resort & Spa in the heart of lovely Scottsdale, Arizona, a pleasant 20-minute drive from Phoenix.


NOTES FOR EDITORS

Bonhams, founded in 1793, is one of the world's largest auctioneers of fine art and antiques. The present company was formed by the merger in November 2001 of Bonhams & Brooks and Phillips Son & Neale. In August 2002, the company acquired Butterfields, the principal firm of auctioneers on the West Coast of America. Today, Bonhams offers more sales than any of its rivals, through two major salerooms in London: New Bond Street and Knightsbridge; and a further three in the UK regions and Scotland. Sales are also held in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Carmel, New York and Connecticut in the USA; and Germany, France, Monaco, Hong Kong and Australia. Bonhams has a worldwide network of offices and regional representatives in 25 countries offering sales advice and valuation services in 60 specialist areas. For a full listing of upcoming sales, plus details of Bonhams specialist departments go to www.bonhams.com

Contacts
  1. Jakob Greisen
    Specialist
    Bonhams
    Work
    220 San Bruno Avenue
    San Francisco, United States 94103
    Work +1 415 503 3284
    FaxFax: +1 415 391 4040
  2. Mark Osborne
    Specialist
    Bonhams
    Work
    220 San Bruno Avenue
    San Francisco, United States 94103
    Work +1 415 503 3353
    FaxFax: +1 415 503 3300
  3. Rupert Banner
    Specialist
    Bonhams
    Work
    580 Madison Avenue
    New York, United States 10022
    Work +1 212 461 6515
    FaxFax: +1 917 206 1669