Offered from the estate of the late Clifford Jones
1955 Ariel 998cc Square Four 4G Mk2
Registration no. VKM 298
Frame no. PS342
Engine no. GL333
Designed by Edward Turner, creator of the legendary Triumph Speed Twin, the first Ariel Square Four was shown at the Olympia Motorcycle Show in 1930. Conceived as an overhead-camshaft 500, the model grew to 601cc before a total redesign saw it emerge as the Model 4G, with 995cc overhead-valve engine, in 1937. Anstey-link plunger rear suspension became an option in 1939, but would not be offered again until 1946, when a telescopic front fork replaced the previous girder type. An exercise in weight shedding saw the cast-iron cylinder head and barrel replaced by alloy components for 1949, the revised model, now capable of 90mph-plus, being known as the Mark 1. Introduced in 1953, the 'four pipe' Mk2 with redesigned cylinder head elevated the Square Four into the league of genuine 100mph motorcycles. Square Four production ceased in 1959, along with that of all other Ariel four-strokes. To date, the innovative Ariel Square Four remains unique in motorcycling history; a true 'gentleman's motorcycle', this refined yet characterful machine retains an enthusiastic and loyal following, and is highly prized by discerning enthusiasts. This late example comes with an old-style continuation logbook (issued 1962) listing three owners in Kent and South London. The late owner bought the machine as a restoration project in 2010 from Ron Cobb, who states in an accompanying email printout that the machine had been kept by its last owner for 30 years and had been bought from Pratt's Vintage Motorcycles of London SE1. A tax disc that expired in December 1975 is still in the holder. The machine is offered with the aforementioned logbook, assorted pre-restoration photographs, sundry invoices, Draganfly Motorcycles spare parts lists, Swansea V5C document and a CD-ROM of images documenting the rebuild.