LAYARD, AUSTEN HENRY. 1817-1894.
The Monuments of Nineveh. From Drawings Made on the Spot. [First and] Second Series. London: John Murray, 1853.
2 volumes. Folio (568 x 352 mm). , 10; , 4 pp. Illustrated with additional chromolithographed title to first series, and 172 large lithographed plates, including 13 colored, several tinted, and some folding. Modern half-morocco, gilt titles and call numbers to spine. Plates overall clean with scattered soiling to margins (more frequent in series 2), a few short marginal tears, soiling and tears to text, repairs to title and intro first series, repairs to description of plates second series.
Provenance: City of Leeds Public Libraries (engraved armorial bookplates; blindstamp to upper corner of each plate; call slips bound in); E.D. Maroon (ownership signature penciled to title first series).
The discoveries made by Layard on this excavation caused a sensation, and provided the British Museum with some of its most well-known treasures, including the Black Obelisk of Shalmaneser III and several pairs of human-headed winged lions and bulls. However, what Layard believed to be Nineveh was actually Nimrud; he would later discover the true site of Nineveh while excavating the citadel mound at Kuyunjik. The first series was first published in 1849. See Sorensen, Dictionary of Art Historians.