early 20th century height 30 1/2in (77cm); length 66in (167.5cm); depth 41 3/8in (105cm)
Provenance: Patrick Lawson Andrew and Isabel Lawson
Professor Andrew Lawson, the geologist who was the first person to discover and name the San Andreas fault, had purchased a tract of land called La Loma Park with the Maybecks and Farnum Griffith in 1900. Bernard Maybeck had already designed a house for him in 1896, and after the 1906 quake, they worked together to create a concrete house in this tract that would withstand earthquakes. Lawson House was completed in 1908.
The consignor was a longtime neighbor of the Lawsons and purchased the desk from Isabel's son, Patrick, after her death.
Literature: Sally B. Woodbridge, Bernard Maybeck Visionary Architect, Abbeville Press, 1996 pp. 116-127 for a discussion of the house and the relationship of Andrew Lawson and Bernard Maybeck