1938 OEC-JAP 980cc Special
Registration no. EUC 23
Frame no. DSPS176
Engine no. KTW/P/1112/60
Best remembered for its curious 'duplex' form of steering gear and Claude Temple's record-breaking exploits on the mighty OEC-Temple-Anzani, the Osborn Engineering Company commenced motorcycle manufacture in 1914. The Gosport-based firm began by making motorcycles under contract to engine manufacturer Blackburne before marketing machines under its own name from 1920. OEC also made its own engines under the 'Atlanta' name but mainly relied on proprietary power units from JAP. As well as the patented duplex steering, introduced in 1927, the firm offered rear springing from 1929. Financial crisis forced relocation in the early 1930s to Portsmouth, where OEC continued experimenting with unorthodox means of two-wheeled transport before settling on a more conventional range by the decade's end. The firm recommenced manufacture after WW2 with a range of mainly Villiers-powered lightweights but was gone by the end of the 1950s.
The unusual 'special' offered here consists of an OEC rolling chassis and a water-cooled JAP v-twin engine. 'EUC 23' started life as a motorcycle combination and was originally powered by an air-cooled JAP v-twin engine, as depicted in the copy of a period b/w photograph on file. The OEC was bought by David Blanchard on 1st April 1966 minus engine from one J Connelly, of Marine Parade, Brighton (purchase receipt on file) and is depicted in an accompanying colour photograph in rolling chassis form complete with gearbox, duplex front fork, disc rear wheel and its original fuel tank. The water-cooled JAP engine was bought from one G B Dover in 1967 (purchase receipt available) though when 'EUC 23' arrived in its current form is not known; neither is its mechanical condition and so the machine is sold strictly as viewed. This unique, show-stopping motorcycle is offered with assorted correspondence, a quantity of restoration notes and drawings, various press cuttings, technical literature, sundry invoices, assorted copies of the VMCC Journal, old-style green logbook (issued 1964) and Swansea V5.