The 1928 Freddie Dixon 348cc TT Douglas Twin Cam
Engine no. DD 1
Following Freddie Dixons return to Douglas in 1928, he was allocated a corner of the Works for development projects, with the full resources of the factory available to him as required. As a development engineer he had few equals, being also a skilled rider who understood the reality of the race track and was able to interpret racing requirements from first hand experience through his drawing/design board. The 1928 TT was uppermost in Dixons mind upon his return to Douglas and, exclusively for this event, Dixon designed an all-new twin cam shaft, overhead valve engine in both 350cc and 500cc configurations. The potential of the new bike was undoubted but time limitations prevented full development prior to despatch to the Isle of Man. Nevertheless on its very first outing, Dixon, on this machine in 348cc form, achieved a creditable 18th place in the Junior event. Riding a 500cc twin cam bike in the Senior event Dixon was to lay down the bike at Gooseneck while avoiding other crashed riders and retired. Injuries to his hands in this incident effectively brought Dixons motorcycle racing career to an end. One might surmise that this 500cc machine might even have been the same bike as ridden by Dixon in the Junior event, with the barrels changed. This would have been a relatively simple job for Dixon and his team and it was well known that Douglas were at the time racing on a very tight budget.Whatever, this machine is now to the specification in which it was ridden by Dixon to 18th place in the Junior in 1928.
In the 1950s the Dixon Douglas was found languishing in a tuning shop in London where it was discovered by Dr. Joe Bailey who acquired it by providing the then owner with a Zenith frame in exchange. The machine was then to pass into the custodianship of Len Cole and thence to Colin Clifford who undertook a painstaking five year restoration. This involved refabricating front parts of the frame, using original Douglas lugs, and carefully retaining the original rear frame sections. The machine is equipped with BTH magneto, three speed Douglas TT gearbox, no.UG 497, and is generally presented as closely as possible to original specification, bearing in mind the extremely limited information available relating to this model. This absolutely unique and exceedingly historically important machine has not been raced in anger since restoration, Colin Clifford considering it of too great historical importance, but it has been paraded by invitation and to much acclaim on many significant occasions at Brooklands, Brands Hatch, Cadwell Park and other circuits.
- We are pleased to advise that this important machine comes with a Swansea V5C registration document for the registration number DF 5045, registration number plate, M.O.T certificate from 1983 and a tax disc to 1984.